School? What’s That?

I was looking at the school calendar today and I’m wondering if they shouldn’t have just given the kids’ the entire month of March off? Today is a 1/2 day for teacher inservice. Next week, shockingly enough, they don’t have any time off. The following week is a 1/2 day Thursday, no school Friday or the following Monday. Then another 1/2 day Friday. Seriously folks, they are supposed to be learning! I know we had vacation time when I was in school, and quite honestly November and December had far more days off, but it certainly seems like they spend an awful lot of time on vacation from school!

And I made a mommy boo-boo today. I completely blanked on the fact that they still have a brown bag lunch on half days (I blanked on the fact that it was a half day too!). So, I didn’t pack a lunch for C this morning. I mean, home at noon, he can eat at home, right? I get there to pick him up and every other kid in class has a brown bag lunch on their desk…EVERY kid! Ack! I apologized to him and he told me he wasn’t hungry when they served lunch. No biggie Mom! Yeah…right! I still feel like the worst mom ever anyway!

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel said

    Well forgive yourself. I have such a hard time giving myself a break but you are a good mom and so on.

  2. Jess said

    Aww, at least your kid didn’t mind. He probably preferred to eat real food at home? I would have, anyway.

    Also, in France they get tons of vacations. It feels like they get two weeks off every other month–October, December, February, and April. Oh wait, that IS two weeks every other month. INSANE. Although I loved it when I studied over there in high school.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment