Not Quite An Interesting Weekend

So, my weekend was pretty boring. Friday night, I took the kids to their dad’s (if you missed that I’m once divorced, twice married then I apologize for the shock) for the weekend. Because we live 3 hours apart it’s a long trek and afterwards we’re all a little tired. After getting home I decided to wait up for my husband to get home from work, but ended up falling asleep on the couch with a headache. I was woken up by our boys barking up a storm (more specifically Balto) upon his arrival a few minutes after midnight. I stayed up for about an hour with him and then decided I really needed some sleep.

We got up late (and for me that’s usually 8AM, but I made it until after 11AM) on Saturday morning. I decided I’d go spend the day/night with him and some friends because staying home alone didn’t really sound all that exciting. We got ready, grabbed some lunch at Taco John’s and made it to his friends’ by early afternoon. His buddy has recently headed back to college and so the hubster was helping him work on a couple papers he had due. So I head out to Target for an hour of shopping. I didn’t find much, but I did get a new purse that I think is super cute! With purse purchase taken care of I headed back to the friends’ house to hang out.

Paper writing and proofing took another hour and by then we’d all started drinking. It’s 5 o’clock somewhere right? I’m not a big drinker since I don’t really have much time to drink, but I was cutting loose for the weekend. Anyway, nothing much happened, but hubby’s friend did manage to sell his 4-wheeler while we were there for a cool sum of cash. The guys (by now they were far outnumbering me) made an absolutely delicious dinner of venison tenderloin, steelhead and deep fried pheasant. Everything was excellent, but I had to wait until 8 o’clock to eat so by then I’d snacked away most of my hunger. The rest of the night was typical guy…fart jokes, put downs…you know grown up boys having a good time. I’m fine with that, but I was out of my league in the drinking department so I finally decided I was out for the count about 10PM.

For whatever reason I woke up around 1AM and went and found hubby and buddy who were watching a movie upstairs…Talladega Nights? Husband has the brilliant idea that because nasty weather is coming, I should drive us home. WHAT? Of course, I argued the point that I had just woken up, felt hungover and that it was now bar:30 (bar close). I lost. At 2:30AM I found myself behind the wheel driving the 40 miles home. It was okay until I actually had to take my exit off the highway and our Jeep fishtailed. That scared me so I inched my way to the stop sign. Then I fished turning there. So, I went pretty slow all the way through town. We get to our street and I didn’t start slowing down soon enough. Anti-lock brakes come on, truck starts to skid and I nearly go up the median and into the stoplight…seriously missed it by inches. Then I slid through the intersection on top of it. I was shaking by the time I pulled in the driveway and I don’t plan to do that again. Freezing rain is nothing to joke about.

We didn’t get to bed until 4AM and slept away most of our Sunday. I was supposed to drive and pick up the kids’, but we had some pretty nasty weather this weekend and the roads were treacherous so I convinced my ex-husband to keep them an extra night for their safety. P and I had nothing to do the rest of the day so we lounged around and ended up being so bored we watched Hulk Hogan’s version of American Gladiators. I ended up going back to bed by 10PM since I still had to get up and do school stuff for the kids’ in preparation for them to come home.

And that folks…was my weekend. Blah, huh?

3 Comments »

  1. Kathryn said

    Actually, that sounds like a lovely weekend. I love weekends that have no real agenda. And lounging around sounds like heaven. Ooooo. 🙂

  2. Not the greatest, maybe, but at least you got out! And drank! About a week into Lent I gave up alcohol, and now I am missing my occasional glass (or three) of wine…

  3. Jess said

    I don’t know, I don’t think it sounds too blah. In fact in its own quiet way it sounds enjoyable.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

