Ode to Shoveling

Snow Shovel
Mother Nature dumped on us
Yet another couple inches
So out I went with coat and hat
To pick up my shovel
I dug and dug
And dug some more
No end it seemed in sight
And then those darn plows went through
I dug again with all my might
I’m done with all this winter snow
(Looking ahead to spring)
My shovel has done it’s job this year
I think it’s done enough
So when it snows again this week
(I have no doubt it will)
I’ll let my husband take it up
He can wield the shovel
And brave the wintery cold
I’m not a fan of snow in the least. The last 10 years or so have actually been pretty mild in the snow category, but this year we’ve been walloped with it over and over and over again. I think even the hardiest of Midwesterners are fed up now and are looking towards a nice spring rain and some sunshine to go along with it. We may very well get hit with another storm on Sunday and this time my husband gets shoveling duty…NO MATTER WHAT! I’m retiring my shovel for at least a couple of days if I have anything to say about it.
3 Comments »

  1. ozymandiaz said

    being a floridian I’ve no exprience shoveling the white stuff but your ode here I think describes it well, making me glad I am, at tleast for the moment, still a Floridian.

  2. Kathryn said

    Yep. You are right. We are fed up. Enough is enough. My back and shoulders are aching!
    SPRING!!!!!

  3. Rachel said

    I love the new look. Very hot! I want spring too!! I am sick of the sun not shining.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

