If A Picture = 1000 Words…

“I tried to stop smoking cigarettes by telling myself I just didn’t want to smoke, but I didn’t believe myself” – Barbara Kelly

red smoking

Yeah, I’m smoking again. I’m disappointed in myself and my only excuse…my husband is still smoking and the cravings got the best of me. I’m not sure when I’ll have the ambition to quit again, but I can say the kids’ are extremely disappointed in me; as I’m sure my grandma will be when I finally get the nerve to tell her.

I’m not going to beat myself up over it though. It’s so rare for someone to be able to quit the first go-round. I lasted about 35 days…so next time I can maybe go longer and finish it once and for all? Possibly even this weekend if I’m all alone for two days? It would be great if I could get my husband to quit with me, but I don’t know if this house can handle two people dying for nicotine at the same time. He’s also smoked a lot longer than I have and I know it would be so much harder on him than it was on me.

You know, I have to talk about the picture with this little tidbit too…it’s awful. I think it’s probably the worst pro-smoke picture I’ve seen in awhile. So “glamorous” with the bright red lips and those “I don’t smoke” white teeth. I’ll tell you what, I don’t have white teeth and smoke coming out of my mouth is not at all glamorous. On top of that, the brand pictured (Parliament) isn’t that great. Cheaper than name-brand, but not great; just in case those non-smokers out there were wondering.

So now you all know it…I feel better getting it off my chest.  I haven’t really told anyone yet and it’s been bugging me.

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel said

    It was really tough to quit and you should not beat yourself up. I quit a few years ago and I was just ready but I still miss it.

  2. Saly said

    You know, at least you’re trying though. It’s an addiction, and you’re trying.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

