Scrolling Saturday #1 Diagnosis: Bipolar Disorder

Scrolling Saturdays

Diagnosis: Bipolar Disorder

A little background….

In November 2007, I was diagnosed with severe bipolar disorder and anxiety. Since then I’ve been on a daily medication regimen to help me regulate my mood and to deal with the anxiety issues. It’s been very difficult to get used to the idea of needing daily medication and even harder still to get used to the idea that I have a very severe and often misdiagnosed disorder like bipolar. For many, many years I’ve been told that I just had depression with a little anxiety or anxiety with a little depression. Until I really spiraled no doctor ever took the time to ask really detailed questions about my life history, my medical history and my mental history. It is a relief to finally not feel the way I used to, even if the cost of that is excruciatingly painful each month. I’ve chosen Diagnosis: Bipolar Disorder as my first Scrolling Saturday because I want to get the word out about what Bipolar Disorder really means. It’s taken me at least 15 years to get a proper diagnosis. Perhaps I can help someone else get a diagnosis sooner.

7 Comments »

  1. Kathryn said

    Many people have depression in my family and two have bipolar. It is such a difficult disease because everyone’s treatment is so different. It is a long road.
    I’m so glad you are getting help and they finally can start treating you. Good for you!

  2. Melissa said

    It’s great that you are speaking out and hoping to help others help themself. Happy SS!

  3. HolleeAnn said

    good for you for being so open and willing to help others. there are so many stigmas that go with any type of mental illness and it kees people from medicating themselves in order to live an fuller more enriched life. there is no shame is getting the right kind of help. people like you are angels sent from heaven…your words will help people.

    thank you for sharing your heart!

  4. Rachel said

    I have dealt with depression on and off for a long time. Do you take any herbs to help or foods that help bipolar? Anyway, I would love some help with the link stuff if you could explain.

  5. Alison said

    I am glad you have received a diagnosis and are getting the help you need! Sometimes this is the hardest part….

  6. Wow, I am sorry it has taken so long for you to get a correct diagnosis. Thanks for sharing your story, though.

  7. Jessa said

    Thanks so much for all the comments on this. It’s been a hard struggle for our entire family and I think even though it doesn’t seem like it, we’ve gotten pretty far.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

