Hitting the Books

After a conversation with my father-in-law last night I realized how strongly I’d like to go back to school. I graduated a year ago (on January 31st) from cosmetology school. I decided not to pursue the career field for many reasons. Now, a year later, I’ve discovered there are plenty of other things I’m much more interested in, but didn’t realize it because I just hadn’t gotten there yet. You know how some life experiences happen and then you realize you really would enjoy something you hadn’t thought of before.

Well, anyway, last night was one of those moments and now I’m wondering how to pull it off. I know I can get a deferrment on my loans; even though some interest will still accrue. I just don’t know if our family would qualify for financial aid like I did a year ago. The whole life situation has changed in such a short time…it’s a “maybe” sort of scenario. Then it’s the whole run of testing and getting into the program. This isn’t something I can decide I don’t want to do when I’m finished, this is something I must find field work in after I graduate to start earning money to pay back loans.

Now, my other option is to get a certification in something. It’s not as solid as a degree, but there are two options there, neither of which I’m absolutely certain is what I’d want a career in, but would potentially lead to at-home employment which is definitely a goal for me so that I can continue to cater to my children while they are at home and avoid some of the costs of working outside the home.

So, I’ve really got to sit down and weigh out the options of the different fields I’m considering, talk with my husband about how realistic it would be for me to pursue something and about how long we can afford to have me out there getting an education based on the cost of it and then go from there. I suppose I could maybe be back in school by fall of 2008 if things play out right! Wish me luck!

4 Comments »

  1. Jenny said

    Good luck! I need to go back to school as well, maybe when the kids grow up a bit! I’m excited for you, please keep us posted!

  2. Leslie said

    Good Luck Jess! Which ways are you leaning?

  3. Jessa said

    Well, I’m considering a CNA, LPN, Medical Coding certification or Medical Transcriptionist. I’m also thinking something web related…I’m online all the time anyway. LOL

  4. Mar said

    Good luck to you Jess, it’s always tough to “start over” so to speak. Let us know what you figure out!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

