Quick Confession

Very, very, very early this morning (say 1AM ish), I took two drags off my husband’s cigarette. Okay…BAD! Yes, VERY BAD. To say that it was probably the nastiest thing I’ve ever tasted would be an understatement. I was shocked how in 8 days time something I loved could become something that was just undeniably disgusting. He warned me that it was going to taste dreadfully awful, but being an idiot I had to see for myself. I guess non-smoker is quite fitting now and I’ll stick with my patch for a couple more days.

This all leads me to wonder if it really takes 21 days to break a habit. After all, I’m 8 days in and feel really good. Cigarettes now taste like absolute ass. Wouldn’t you say that for the most part I’ve broken the habit? The only crutch I really have left is the patch and that’s only because I’m following package directions and using it the full two weeks.

I’ll admit it would take much more than 8 days for me to get over eating fistfuls of chocolate pudding or gorging myself on a really well cooked steak. I would probably need years to get used to the idea of not showering; even if I was forced to just not do it. So I really think a habit is only as strong as your mind thinks it is. I went into not smoking without any pre-warning to myself. Middle of the afternoon I stuck a patch on and that was that. I didn’t give myself time to think about how hard it might be, I just did it. Does that make the habit easier to break? If you just do it, instead of thinking about doing it, are you better off?

Makes me wonder if that’s why so many people can’t keep New Year’s resolutions. They get so worked up over doing such-n-such that maybe it makes the goal completely unattainable. Or maybe the goals are too big. I guess it might be the one question I won’t get an answer too.

3 Comments »

  1. Jenny said

    I think you’re on to something. My husband and I are trying to lose baby weight and it’s a heck of a lot more difficult when I dwell on when I get to eat again. I think people make things into a much bigger deal than it has to be. Congrats to you!

  2. Jessa said

    Thanks Jenny! Good luck with the weight loss, I’m sure you can do it!

  3. Constance said

    I think the first three days of anything are the hardest, because those are the days it would be so easy to “start over.” There isn’t much invested yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

