Cigarette Prices

Tomorrow cigarettes, at least here, shoot up $1 in price per pack and probably about $10 a carton. I’m nearing the end of a pack tonight and have strongly considered buying the nicotine patch when we hit the grocery store (aka Wal-Mart) tomorrow. I’m not sure how much they cost, which is the only factor that could potentially hold me back. I know I can’t quit cold turkey. I also realize what an uphill battle it will be with a smoker still in the house. With the cost increase, my “cheap” cigarettes won’t really be as “affordable” and so I guess it seems silly to me now to continue to throw the money away. I’ve also got that $100 to look forward to this time next year if I do it now. I know my husband will support my decision to quit, but I don’t think he’ll quit with me. The cost of quitting is so ridiculously expensive at the start that smoking almost seems cheap. I think I need to do it though. I need to start the new year on a good note, do something good for me and my kids, and stop being so wishy-washy about this decision. In the long run I highly doubt I’ll regret being a non-smoker. Except maybe, when I have a drink…

Leave a Reply

