I’m Bored…

Boredom has been defined by Fisher in terms of its central psychological processes: “an unpleasant, transient affective state in which the individual feels a pervasive lack of interest in and difficulty concentrating on the current activity” [1]. Leary and others define boredom similarly, and somewhat more succinctly, as “an affective experience associated with cognitive attentional processes” [2]. These definitions make it clear that boredom arises not for a lack of things to do but the inability to latch onto any specific activity. Nothing engages us, despite an often profound desire for engagement.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boredom

That would be me tonight! I almost wish I’d let the kids stay up a little later. 😉 Other than some cleaning, which really should be done during the day, I don’t have a darn thing to do other than maybe go to bed at a decent hour. Even playing on Pogo tonight didn’t give me any relief, and that will usually occupy me for at least an hour when I’m bored.

I have trouble sleeping at night when I’m all alone in the house. And by alone, I simply mean that either the husband or the dog isn’t here to ‘protect’ me. Not that I’ll need any protection tonight I’m sure, but it is reassuring to say the least.

Leave a Reply

